Lee Campbell elected CSC Chair

The Central Societies Committee AGM took place this evening

Lee Campbell has been elected as Chair of the Central Societies Committee (CSC) for the 2019/2020 academic year.

Campbell was elected at the CSC Annual General Meeting (AGM) this evening and will take over the role from incumbent chair, Fiona May.

In a bid for the position, Campbell drew on his experience with Trinity’s TEDx society, which was extended full recognition at the AGM this evening. He outlined that his experience in societies has made him “passionate about the CSC” and outlined that he would like to update the CSC’s systems and establish a Facebook group for all society committee members.

The CSC is one of College’s five capitated bodies which receives funding from the Capitations Committee, alongside Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU), the Graduate Students’ Union (GSU), Trinity Publications, and Dublin University Central Athletic Club (DUCAC).

Caoimhin Hamill, a Senior Fresh Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology (PPES) student, was elected as Secretary. Hamill has previously served as Record Secretary of the College Historical Society (the Hist).

Junior Sophister Law and Business student Eada Hogan was elected as Treasurer. Hogan described herself as being “responsible, organised and trustworthy” and pledged to provide training workshops for society treasurers. 

Katie Holmes was elected as Amenities Officer. Holmes has previously served as Vice-President of Fundraising for Trinity VDP.

Elections took place for eight members of the CSC executive, which were won by Rua Barron, Cormac Henry, Rionach Hyland, Ben McConkey, Katie O’Brien, Donal Sheehan, Ben Steacy and Alessia Vecchio.

The CSC AGM took place this evening in the Ui Chadhain lecture theatre in the Arts Building.

Lauren Boland

Lauren Boland was the Editor of the 67th volume of Trinity News. She is an English Literature and Sociology graduate and previously served as Deputy Editor, News Editor and Assistant News Editor.