News: In Brief

Young People

Our news writers round up the best of this week’s news stories from youth deprivation to the College re-brand.

Negative online reactions to proposed new Trinity logo


Negative reaction to College rebrand and new logo.

Campus building for Catholic institute opened despite opposition

Ciar Gifford illustration

New building for the controversial Loyola Institute opened.

Provost refused to meet student representatives over cuts


TCDSU President, Tom Lenihan, feels let down by the lack of consultation with regard the cuts to capitated committees.

Trinity has hired 70 JobBridge interns


Catherine Healy News Editor 70 JobBridge interns have worked for periods of up to nine months in College since August 2011, Trinity News has learned. Out of the 70 interns that have commenced internships with Trinity through the programme, 25 are currently active in their placements. To date, only 15 interns have obtained employment within […]

Students spark controversy over publication of illegal drug recipe


Catherine Healy News Editor Study lists readily available products for use in “clandestine” manufacturing of mephedrone Scholars supervised by Trinity academic, say they take “inspiration from Breaking Bad” Editors of the Trinity Student Medical Journal (TSMJ) have been ordered to withdraw the publication after it published step-by-step instructions on making mephedrone from commercially available products. […]

Socialists threaten to sabotage Phil recruitment drive


James Prendergast Deputy News Editor – Contentious dispute reignites after Phil debates re-inviting BNP leader to Trinity – SWSS meeting criticises “white upper/middle class” and “radical right-wing” Phil members; society responds Trinity Socialist Worker Student Society (SWSS) is planning to discourage students from joining the University Philosophical Society (Phil) during Freshers’ Week. At a meeting last […]

“Back out of my life”: Panti is honoured by Trinity societies


Hannah Beresford Staff Writer There are very few people in this day and age who can claim to have touched millions with no more than the power of their oratory. Panti Bliss, alter ego of Rory O’Neill, is one of those few. Always an outspoken figure, she shot to international prominence in recent weeks following […]

Relay for Life event huge success

Relay for Life Online

Dylan Brockmeyer recounts Trinity Cancer Society’s annual Relay For Life, where teams relay for 24 hours to raise money for the charity.

Maynooth students protest against sexism


Close to 200 students marched on the offices of Maynooth Students’ Union (MSU) today in protest against the culture of sexism they say the union is promoting.  The protesters – who have organised this week under the banner of ‘Students Against Sexism’ – demanded to speak to Aidan McNally, MSU Vice President for Welfare and Equality […]

Contact Info

6 Trinity College,
Dublin 2,
Tel: 01-8962335


Tommy Gavin
Catherine Healy
D. Joyce-Ahearne
William Foley
Gavin Kenny
Cal Gray
Matthew Mulligan

Art Department

Ciar Gifford
Natalie Duda
Dargan Crowley-Long
Maria Kavanagh
Aoife Comey
Atalanta Copeman-Papas

Alice Wilson

Monthly Archive