TCDSU’s Know Your Union Week


       “I suppose we brought “Know Your Union Week” into play to make our positions, and the union itself, more accessible.”  “Freshers’ week isn’t over” is the leading line in the Students’ Union’s introduction to their new campaign week, “Know Your Union”,  a fresh addition to the student calendar this year. With no […]

Strong student attendance at Repeal march, despite rain and bus strike

A delegation of about 300 students marched today under the USI banner as ‘Students for Choice’ in the annual March for Choice. The students assembled from 12:30 outside House Six from where they proceeded to march to outside the Garden of Remembrance to join the rest of the march. This year’s march was themed as […]

Phil bring the glitz and glamour with club Philth


Club Philth, the annual Freshers’ Week extravaganza of drinking and debauchery co-hosted this year by the Phil, Trinity Arts Festival and Q-Soc, took place on Thursday evening. Over 800 Trinity students descended upon the Grand Social for a Studio 54-inspired party that proved to be a true highlight of the busy Trinity Freshers’ schedule. Despite […]

LawSoc Welcomes Making a Murderer Attorneys

LawSoc welcomed Dean Strang and Jerry Buting to a packed out Goldsmith hall to discuss their involvement with the Netflix series, Making a Murderer. The series, which premiered last December, centres around the case of Steven Avery who was convicted of murder in 2007. Strang and Buting were Avery’s legal counsel. Avery was wrongly convicted […]

Madness at the House of Hatters


   As I embarked on my third night out in a row, my body quickly reminded me that I am no longer 18, but in fact the ripe old age of 22. My body is not meant for this, but I ploughed on, determined to party like a fresher. The House of Hatters, hosted in […]

Glitter and romance at Freshers’ Ball


I began Wednesday evening, like every other evening, at a screening of Bridget Jones before being spontaneously offered a ticket to the biggest night of Freshers’ Week: the Freshers’ Ball. Having missed my own Freshers’ Ball, I really didn’t know what to expect. On the bright side, I blended in well with the new young […]

Trinity temporarily removed from Times Rankings following data error


Trinity College Dublin has been temporarily removed from the Times Higher Education (THE) world university rankings. Phil Baty, editor of the THE rankings, has said: “we have been obliged to exclude Trinity College from this year’s ranking due to a unintentional submission error on their part, which is likely to have given them a lower […]

Carnivlaw, candy floss and carousels of dancing


Carnivlaw, the second Ents night of Freshers’ Week, drew large crowds and for good reason. Hundreds of students descended upon Camden Street’s Opium Rooms, and they were not disappointed. The event was hosted by LawSoc, DU Dance and DU Circus, and they combined well for a genuinely original night out. The excitement for Carnivlaw reached […]

Students considering legal action over SU pro-choice mandate


A group of Trinity students have consulted with solicitors about taking legal action against the pro-choice mandate of Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU). Speaking to Trinity News, Gavin Rothwell, one of the students concerned, said: “A number of students are currently exploring our legal options regarding how the Students’ Union operates (regarding) the automatic […]

New gender-neutral bathrooms available in Arts Building


New gender-neutral bathrooms, located in the Arts Building, are now available to students. The development comes as the result of Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) lobbying College authorities for additional restroom facilities to be made available. Speaking to Trinity News, SU Welfare Officer Aoibhinn Loughlin explained: “We didn’t change the physical toilets. We changed […]


House 6,
Trinity College,
Dublin 2,

Phone: 01-8962335


Niamh Lynch
Martin O'Donnell
Michael Foley
Katarzyna Siewierska
Clare McCarthy


Aisling Crabbe
Natalia Duda
Sarah Morel
Mike Dolan
John Tierney
Naoise Dolan
Sarah Larragy
Mubbashir Ali Sultan
Nadia Bertaud
Daniel Tatlow


Kevin O'Rourke
Ines Niarchos
Huda Awan