Secondary school graduates hold negative view of PLC courses

  Students view Post-Leaving Cert (PLC) courses as low ranking alternatives for those who did not obtain a sufficient level of points to enter third level, according to findings from the Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI).   The study, published by the Department of Education, gathered information on the role played by PLC courses in […]

Mary Harney appointed Chancellor of UL

Mary Harney, former Tánaiste and Minister for Health and Children, was appointed Chancellor of the University of Limerick (UL) and Chairperson of UL’s Governing Authority, following a unanimous vote by the authority. Her term will run until 2022.   Harney retired from politics in 2011. Following her tenure, she became director of several private companies […]

Complaints lodged by students as Schols exams plagued by errors

A number of logistical and administrative errors caused significant chaos and confusion at a Scholarship (Schols) examination this morning, resulting in complaints lodged to Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) sabbatical officers and various College bodies.   Schols exams for English, Engineering and Medicine students, as well as Christmas exams for Computer Science students, were […]

TCDSU open nominations for sabbatical roles

Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) opened nominations for sabbatical officer positions today until January 19, in advance of  the elections which will be held from February 12-22.   In a  press statement to Trinity News, TCDSU President , Kevin Keane, said: “Running for sabbatical officer is something that I would highly recommend to anyone in college. The […]

TCDSU President Keane criticised for meeting head of Aramark without informing Aramark boycott campaign

The Aramark Off Our Campus campaign group have criticised Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) President Kevin Keane for meeting an Aramark official without informing the campaign team. The campaign previously refused to meet the said official.   Speaking on behalf of the campaign, Junior Sophister Botany student Jessie Dolliver said: “The fact that the […]

Where we were: what was in Trinity News headlines 50 years ago?

Fifty years ago, life on campus seemed a little more hectic than nowadays – the front page of a 1967 issue of Trinity News reports several cases of students involved in stabbing and brawls – but the minds of student journalists were concerned with problems that still feed our interest today: the ever-strained relationship between […]

New setbacks to development of College Green plaza

The development of a €10 million civic plaza in College Green could face a significant delay due to the cancellation of a public hearing that had been set to take place on Tuesday. Meanwhile, major traffic restrictions in the area could be enforced in the near future.   An Bord Pleanála planned to discuss the […]

Are carefree student summers a thing of the past?

  There’s a strange pressure hanging in the air to find ever more interesting and exotic adventures to embark upon during summertime. From volunteering for 3 months in India, to  J1’s or fancy internships, everyone is fighting to do something bigger and better than the last. With such a huge expanse of time gifted to […]

Exam scripts constitues as personal data rules European Court of Justice

The European Court of Justice (ECJ) has ruled that the exam script of an Irish student constitutes as personal data and should be allowed to be accessed by the student. The ECJ’s ruling follows over eight years of legal battles through the High Court and Supreme Court. Peter Nowak, who was a student of the […]

Your most-read news stories of 2017

1. Impeachment petition of Ascough gains total of 1620 signatures On October 2, students of UCD submitted the original petition to the returning officer, initiating the impeachment referendum of UCDSU President Katie Ascough. The number of signatures gathered exceeded the number of votes Ascough was awarded in the UCD sabbatical elections in March by 466, but was later declared […]


House 6,
Trinity College,
Dublin 2,

Phone: 01-8962335

Sarah Meehan
Sam Cox
Rory O'Sullivan
Jessie Dolliver
Joel Coussins


Jenny Corcoran
Harriet Bruce
Isabelle Griffin
Maha Sultan
Megan Luddy
Lucie Rondeau Du Noyer
Amanda Cliffe
Constance Millar
Nicole O'Sullivan
Chloe Aitken


Joe McCallion
Tobi Irein
Niall Maher