Students’ Union sabbaticals elected

The Students’ Union sabbatical officers for 2010 to 2011 have been announced. Next year’s Union will be headed by Nikolai Trigoub-Rotnem, with Education Officer Jennifer Fox, Welfare Officer Steph Fleming, Communications Officer Tom Lowe and Entertainments Officer Darragh Genockey taking up their positions next year. The results were announced on the evening of Thursday, 19th February.
The election for Students’ Union President polled a total of 3,684 votes, for which 1,798 went to Trigoub-Rotnem on the third count. Dan Reilly was eliminated on the first count with 145 votes, with Declan Harmon being eliminated on the second count with 911 votes, including transfers. Fearghal Hughes came second with a total of 1,515 on the third count.
Trigoub-Rotnem, whose campaign was centred on fees issues, grants, the Library and sports facilities, describes his reaction to victory as a “strange mix of excitement, relief and gratitude”. He says he was “amazed at the amount of time and effort my friends put in to help me get elected”. When asked about next year, the Engineering student comments, “I’m trying to make plans to ensure I make the most of my year as President, and keep the promises I’ve made.”
The race for Welfare Officer was decided by only 20 votes between candidates, with Fleming emerging as winner over the incumbent Cormac Cashman. Fleming hopes to make a “tangible difference” when it comes to the role of Welfare Officer, and says the position is suited for her as a “very passionate person in caring for others”.
Genetics student Jennifer Fox won the position of Education Officer with 3,090 votes to Dave Preston’s 418. Fox hopes to create an online book database for the Students’ Union Bookshop, and overhaul WebCT to create a “virtual learning environment”.
Tom Lowe was elected with 3,084 votes, against 495 votes to re-open nominations. Lowe says he is “very grateful to everyone who helped out with the campaign and everyone who voted for me”. He is “looking forward to improving the Students’ Union’s visibility, accountability and transparency next year”.
The Entertainments Officer for 2010 to 2011 was elected immediately on the first count, with Darragh Genockey leading by 1,121 over Conor O’Toole. “I’d like to thank everyone who helped out on the campaign,” says Genockey, “the team was unbelievable and I’d encourage more people to get involved in the future.” Genockey is currently looking for people to join his Ents team next year.
There were a combined 762 votes to re-open nominations.