Student union election candidates announced

news117 students were this evening announced as candidates in the upcoming SU elections after nominations closed at 5pm today.

Running for the position of SU president are Lynn Ruane, Conor O’Meara, Gabriel Adewusi, Adam Colton and Nessan Harpur.

In the running for the position of welfare officer are Aoife O’Brien, Louise O’Toole, Conor Clancy, Liam Mulligan and Muireann Montague.

Jemma O’Leary and Aifric Ni Chriodain are the two candidates for the newly-created position of communications and marketing officer.

The positions of education officer and University Times editor are uncontested, with Molly Kenny and Edmund Heaphy nominated in each respective race.

The three candidates for the position of entertainments officer are David Gray, Katie Cogan and Conor Parle.

The election period will begin on February 2nd and run until February 12th, when the results are expected to be announced.

James Wilson contributed reporting to this piece. 

Catherine Healy

Editor of Trinity News. Interested in politics, history and all forms of media.