€1k prize up for grabs at student media awards

A new award for ‘outstanding achievement’ in student journalism comes with a €1,000 prize at this year’s KBC National Student Media Awards (Smedias).

Nominations for the prize are open for individuals or groups who have made a special contribution to campus media.

The winners of the student media competition, which receives over 1,000 entries every year, are due to announced at a ceremony in the Aviva Stadium on April 16th.

This year’s judges include Fionnan Sheehan, editor of the Irish Independent; Tim Vaughan, editor of the Irish Examiner; Cathy Fox, executive producer of The Late Late Show; Lenny Abrahamson, multi-award winning director; and Cathal Gaffney, founder of Brown Bag animation and multi-Academy Award nominee.

Applications for the new award close on April 9th.