Presidential and Welfare sabbatical roles are the only contested positions in Leadership Race

Five people are running for Welfare, while UT Editor is uncontested for third year in a row


12 students were announced to be running in the 2017 Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) sabbatical officer elections outside House 6 earlier today with Kevin Keane, Bryan Mallon, and Thomas Emmet running for the role of TCDSU President.

Kevin Keane is a fourth year law student and Deputy Chair of the TCDSU lobby group. Thomas Emmet is a fourth year history student and the current Environmental Officer in TCDSU. Bryan Mallon is a fourth year Irish Studies student. He is the Vice Chairperson of the Fianna Fail Wolfe Tone Cumann, and Chairperson of DU Gaelic Football Club.

The position of Education Officer is running uncontested this year. Alice MacPherson is a 4th year TSM History and English student. She is the current Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Convener and Secretary to the TCDSU Education Committee.

The Welfare Officer position continues to be popular, with five students running for the position this year. Laura Grady is a second year Economics and Sociology student. She is the Volunteer Coordinator on TCDSU’s Welfare Committee. Emma Purser is a fourth year World Religions and Theology student and the current School of Religions, Theology and Peace Studies Convener within TCDSU. Damian McClean is a fourth year Mathematics student. He is the current Citizenship Officer in TCDSU and the LGBT Rights Officer in TCDSU in 2014/15. Rachel Skelly is a third year Geography student. In April 2016 she was elected to the position of Gender Equality Officer at TCDSU. Meabh Cullen is a third year Environmental Science student and the current Disability Officer for TCDSU.

Communications and Marketing Officer is running uncontested this year. Úna Harty is a third year Nanoscience, Chemistry and Physics of Advanced Materials student. She is the Irish Officer for TCDSU and is also the PRO of Trinity Publications.

The candidate for Entertainments Officer are Jonah Craig, third year Computer Science and Business student and current Treasurer of Trinity Ents. This race is also uncontested.

Dominic McGrath is the uncontested candidate for Editor of the University Times, making this the third year in a row that the position is unopposed. He is a third year Law and Political Science student and the current Deputy Editor of The University Times.

Campaigning officially begins with postering on 14 February and concludes with the results on 23 February. To find out more about each candidate, click here.

Additional reporting by Sinéad Harrington and Niamh Lynch. 

Stacy Wrenn

Stacy Wrenn is a staff writer and a Senior Sophister Jewish and Islamic Civilisations student.