Two females out of 12 candidates and two uncontested races: Meet your 2018 SU election candidates

12 candidates were announced today after 6pm on the steps of House Six

Photo Credit: Foréis Uinseann

With the annual election of the sabbatical officers of Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) only weeks away, the announcement of this year’s candidates was made outside House 6 at 6pm today. This year sees contested races in all but two races, the position of welfare officer and education officer. There are two women running for officer roles, with 10 males. Michael McDermott is running for both University Times (UT) editor, as well as president, the only candidate to run for two positions. Canvassing will begin on February 12, and will conclude on February 22, when the successful officers will be announced.


Michael McDermott:

Michael McDermott is the student behind the Trinity Collidge Facebook account is running for both President and Editor of the University Times. McDermott is a final year Nanoscience student .

Paul Molloy:

Paul Molloy is a Senior Sophister Philosophy, Politics, Economics and Sociology (PPES) student. From Wexford, Paul is the current auditor of the Hist and oversaw the invitation for Nigel Farage to visit the Hist and subsequent rescinding of the proposed Gold Medal. He was previously Treasurer of the Hist in the 2016/17 academic year.

Shane Rice:

Shane Rice is from Dundalk, Co. Louth and is a third year studying Irish and German. He was class rep in his first year and elected President of Trinity Hall JCR his second year, as well as acting as TSM Convener. A resident of the Scéim Chónaithe in his second year, he has spent the last year studying in the Universität Konstanz in Germany.

Sean Ryan:

Sean Ryan is a Senior Sophister Law student. A previous class rep for his course, he is also involved with both the Trinity GAA society and the Law Society, Ryan was also part of Bryan Mallon’s campaign team during last years TCDSU President election.


Aimee Connolly:

Aimee Connolly is a fourth year BESS student studying Political Science and Business. Aimee is currently the Chairperson of DU Amnesty and previously served as a Campaign Coordinator. She was previously a class rep and now is the BESS Convenor in the SU. Aimee has experience as an S2S mentor, a Project Manager in Enactus Trinity and as an Associate Trainer for the National Student Engagement Programme.


James Cunningham:

James Cunningham is a third year Politics, Philosophy, Economics and Sociology student. Cunningham was the campaign manager for Laura Grady, the runner up in last year’s Welfare race. From Belfast, he also served on the TCDSU Welfare Committee and was JCR Welfare Officer in Trinity Halls during the 2016/17 academic year.


Matt Dundon:

Matt Dundon hails from Limerick before moving to Kildare in 2013. He is a Junior Sophister Philosophy, Politics, Economics and Sociology (PPES) student and a member of the TCDSU Ents Committee. Matt is a resident DJ at The Midnight Disco and has played at previous Ents events.

David Flood:

David Flood is a Junior Sophister Mechanical Engineering student from Dublin. He is the current captain of the DU Surf Society, a club of over 400 members, and is currently serving as class rep. Flood also co-hosts a radio show on Trinity FM called De Boomtown and is a yearly volunteer at the Trinity Arts Festival. He is a supporter of the Green Party and also co-founded the Dublin Walking Coffee Tours in Collaboration with First Draft Coffee.

Communications and Marketing

Paraic McLean:

Paraic McLean is a fourth year Drama and Theatre student from Co. Tipperary. He is heavily involved in DU Players, where he has served as Technical Manager and as a lighting designer. He has also assisted in organising the Trinity Arts Festival in his role as Production Manager. His previous SU experience includes serving as Creative Arts Convenor and as Public Relations Officer of the Ents Committee.

Cian Rynne:

Cian Rynne is a fourth year Human Genetics student from Dublin. He is the founder of the Facebook group Trinity College Doggos, which has over 5,000 members.

Niall Harty:

Niall Harty is a final year Philosophy student from Nenagh, Tipperary. He is the current Treasurer of TCD Russian Society.

University Times Editor

Eleanor O’Mahony:

Eleanor O’Mahony is a Senior Sophister European Studies student from Dublin. She is currently Deputy Editor of the University Times, having chaired the paper’s Editorial Board from January to July 2016. Eleanor also held the position of Assistant News Editor, and Leader of  Election Coverage from February to March 2016. O’Mahony has also been involved in the Society for International Affairs, Trinity Enactus and the Voluntary Tuition Programme, as well as serving as class rep for two years. O’Mahony returned spent the 2016/17 academic year on Erasmus in Moscow and was also involved in Conor Parle’s 2015 campaign for Ents Officer.

Michael McDermott:

As noted above, McDermott is the student behind the Trinity Collidge satirical Facebook account is running for President also. McDermott is a final year Nanoscience student .

Kate Banks, Sinéad Barry, Lauren Boland, Seana Davis, Michael Gilna, Aisling Grace, Shane Hughes, Niamh Keating, Michael Kelly, Peter Kelly, Caitlin Kirke, Cian MacLochlainn, Dominic Neau, Aoife Ní Chadhain, Meadhbh Ní Mhidigh, Eoin O’Donnell, Rory O’Neill and Ciaran Sunderland contributed to this piece.

Niamh Lynch

Niamh was Editor of the 65th volume of Trinity News. She is a History and Politics graduate.