Ben McConkey elected chair of the CSC at committee’s AGM

Four new societies have been given formal recognition

Ben McConkey has been elected Chair of the Central Societies Committee (CSC) at the committee’s annual general meeting this evening.

McConkey was secretary of the committee in the 2019/2020 academic year and returns to the committee as chair, whose role is to supervise the operations of the society committees and appoint chairpersons to any subcommittees created. 

The chair also sits on several other committees to represent societies, including the Capitations Committee and Student Life Committee. 

He was elected to the position over fellow candidates Alice Lennon and Vince Casey. 

Speaking to Trinity News, McConkey said that he was “really excited for the year ahead”. 

“I’ve been so impressed at the excellent innovations that Ultan, Nathan, James, and the Exec have made to adapt society life over the past year, and I hope to build on those. I have experience on the CSC as Secretary, so I’m sure the new committee will be able to hit the ground running and make much needed improvements from day one”.

Referencing the difficulties that the pandemic brought forth to the organisation of society events over the past year, he stated that he would “be working to create a new normal, one where the diversity, vibrancy, and ingenuity of what societies offer Trinity is amplified and appreciated”. 

Claire Stafford was elected as secretary over fellow candidates Shane Macken and Vince Casey. 

The secretary of the CSC is responsible for preparing agendas and taking minutes at CSC meetings and performing other administrative duties such as keeping track of affairs related to the committee’s constitution. 

Alice Lennon was elected as treasurer of the CSC following an uncontested vote. Prior to the vote, Lennon was an ordinary committee member (OCM) of the CSC, as was Stafford.

Sara Rinaldi, who also ran uncontested, received the position of Amenities Officer. 

After the withdrawal of one candidate withdrew their nomination for the committee’s Executive earlier this afternoon, there were eight candidates remaining to fill eight positions.

The eight students, who were automatically elected, were Lara Coady, Vince Casey, Donncha MacDonnchadha, Lily Mahon, Olivia Moore, Daniel Pender, Daria Vecchio, and Daniela Williams. 

The AGM tonight also formally recognised four new societies: the Nursing and Midwifery Society, Pagan Society, Rover Scouts Society, and the Social Democrats Society. 

Prior to the commencement of today’s AGM, several members of the outgoing committee for 2020/21, including secretary Ultan Pringle, announced that they would be resigning from the committee in protest after calls for chairperson Ryan Grunwell to step down.

Grunwell declined to leave his position as chair following screenshots shared on social media of messages between him and a woman that were sent in 2018.

The CSC is one of College’s five capitated bodies that receives funding from the Capitations Committee, alongside Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU), Graduate Students’ Union (GSU), Trinity Publications, and Dublin University Central Athletic Club (DUCAC). 

Additional reporting provided by Kate Henshaw.

Audrey Brown

Audrey Brown is a Senior Fresher English Studies student, and the Deputy News Editor of Trinity News.