Adam Balchin elected chair of TCDSU Council

The election was held at this evening’s Council meeting

Adam Balchin has been elected chair of Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) Council.

Emma Rossiter, the previous chair, resigned for “personal reasons” according to Education Officer Bev Genockey.

Genockey said she wanted to “take this opportunity to thank Emma for all their work on the Electoral Commission this year”.

Eoin Ussher also contested the election.

The chair of council is also the chair of the Electoral Commission, which oversees sabbatical officer elections. Candidates for this year’s elections are to be announced next Monday (February 7).

A seat on the Electoral Commission, vacated by Adam Balchin by their election, was filled by the election of Dillon Brady. Brady was previously the Single Honours English Class representative.

The election of a Student Parent Officer was postponed due to a lack of candidates.

Hannah Thomas was appointed unopposed to a vacant seat on the Oversight Commission.

Additional reporting by Kate Henshaw, Grace Gageby, Ellen Kenny, Bella Salerno, Constance Roughan and Caroline Higgins.

Jack Kennedy

Jack Kennedy is the Editor-in-chief of the 68th edition of Trinity News. He is a Computer & Electronic Engineering graduate, and a former Assistant Editor, Online Editor, and Deputy Online Editor.