Tom Hegarty elected CSC Chair

Sam Carthy and Daniela Williams were elected as Treasurer and Secretary respectively

Tom Hegarty has been elected chair of the Central Societies Committees (CSC) at the Michaelmas Term General Meeting of the organisation.

Sam Carthy and Daniela Williams were also elected as Treasurer and Secretary respectively.

Candidates were elected by a vote among treasurers of fully recognised Trinity societies.

Hegarty, a senior sophister student of geography and political science, previously served as secretary of the University Philosophical Society (the Phil) as well as on the committee of Trinity Vincent De Paul (VDP).

Hegarty said that he would like to lead the CSC in “advocating for societies”, a function which he currently sees as lacking from the organisation. Hegarty cited “a lot of experience of running weekly events and organising charitable events”.

Carthy, who has served as acting treasurer since the CSC’s AGM where nobody was elected to the position, is a senior sophister law student, and last year served as treasurer of the Phil.

Speaking before the vote, Carthy cited his work over the summer with the capitations committee and dealing with grant approval forms, saying that this has helped him “establish important relationships” within College to effectively serve as CSC treasurer.

He indicated his intention to run regular office hours and pledged to be “someone you can trust”.

Williams, a fourth year economics and political science student, has served as a member of the CSC executive, as well as having been Censor (PRO) of the College Historical Society (the Hist), and is the society’s current Debates Convenor.

Williams cited her experience helping last year’s secretary in discussing amendments to societies constitutions, and in creating the society grievance protocol, which has given her “experience reaching out to other organisations within College”.

Williams added that “we’ve all been on society committees” and that she would like to help “ensure this goes as smoothly as possible”.

The three positions have been vacant since April, when nobody was elected to the roles of treasurer or secretary at the CSC’s AGM, while Eleanor Moreland resigned after being elected chair.

Owen Eglinton, William Reynolds, Emmet Geraghty, and Faye O’Reilly, were elected as ordinary members of the CSC Executive Committee.

The general meeting also saw the formation of a constitutional review working group to update the constitution of the CSC.

Additional reporting by Kate Henshaw.

David Wolfe

David Wolfe is a Junior Sophister student of History and Political Science. He is the current Social Media and Managing Editor of Trinity News, having previously served as News Editor, Assistant News Editor and copyeditor.