€23.47 million in funding announced for technological universities

The funding forms part of a three-year transformation fund for technological universities of €90 million, announced in 2020

Minister for Further and Higher Education Simon Harris has announced that €23.47 million in funding will be allocated to the country’s five technological universities (TUs).

The funds will be used for digital infrastructure, building capacity in research and in improving governance and systems integration.

The Atlantic Technological University (ATU) will receive the largest amount of funding at €5.27 million, followed by South East Technological University (SETU) which will receive €5.25 million.

The Technological University of Dublin (TUD) is to be allocated €5 million, while the Technological University of the Shannon (TUS) and Munster Technological University will receive €4.5 million and €3.45 million respectively.

This allocation of funds is part of a three-year transformation fund of €90 million announced previously in 2020, the Technological University Transformation Fund (TUTF).

Announcing the funding, Harris said: “Over the past year Atlantic Technological University and South East Technological University have been established and are taking their place at the heart of our higher education landscape.

He continued: “This funding is part of the Transformation Funding, which has seen €60 million already invested in making our TUs a reality. The funding today will help build on that important work and ensure TUs have the capacity to grow.”

The Higher Education Authority (HEA) monitors the progress of the Transformation Fund by holding quarterly meetings with institutions. Financial reports of the TUs are also reviewed bi-annually.

The HEA may withdraw or redistribute funding if adequate progress is not made as per project plans.