TCDSU elects part-time officers for 2023/24

A new PTO position, Engagement Officer, was created at council this evening

The Part-Time Officers (PTOs) in Trinity College Dublin Students Union (TCDSU) for 2023/24 were elected at Council this evening.

Other positions elected this evening include Chair of Council, Commissions, three faculty convenors and Chair of Trinity Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions Implementation Group (Trinity BDS).  

The first election saw Connor Casey elected Chair of Council, who ran against Daniel Walsh. Secretary of Council Maggie Larson was re-elected after running against Ewan Tushkanov and Jack Leahy.

Daniel Walsh, Sian Murphy, Eoin Connolly and Aubrey Demann will be ordinary members of the EC.

Incumbent PTO Eoghan Gilroy was re-elected as Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences faculty convenor following an uncontested election. 

Following an election against Hannah McAuley, Rarosue Emakpor was elected to the role of Health Sciences Convenor. Ruaidhri Saulnier will be the next STEM Convenor after running against Sé Ó hEidhin.

Ella Mac Lennan was elected Citizenship Officer against Audrey Demann. Nina Crofts was elected LGBT Rights Officer against Sarah Carroll and Nathan Theodorus.

Incumbent Ailish Smith was re-elected Mature Students Officer in an uncontested election. 

Connor Dempsey was elected Engagement Officer. Dempsey proposed the creation of this role to increase engagement with the union. 

Keeley Jenkins was elected as Officer for Students with Disabilities against Eoin Connolly. Pádraig Mac Brádaigh was elected Oifigeach na Gaeilge after running uncontested.

Hannah McAuley was re-elected Off-Campus Officer after running uncontested.

Anna Kollár will serve as Gender Equality Officer after running uncontested.

Eduarda Werneck was elected International Students Officer after running against four candidates. Hamza Bana was elected Ethnic Minorities against Lean Tolentino.

Following a contest against Sydney Smith, Nathan Hutchinson Edgar will be the Environmental Officer for next year.

David Treacy and Sarah Selfati Harte will take up the positions of Access Officer and Volunteer Forum Coordinator respectively.

The position of Student Parent Officer was unfilled as no one ran for the position. 

Jack Leahy, Manuel Araujo, Alli Dixon and Lean Tolentino were elected as Members of the Oversight Commission.

Isobel Duffy was elected BDS Implementation Group Chair and Patrick Keegan was elected as Secretary. 

Kate Henshaw

Kate Henshaw is current Editor-in-Chief of Trinity News, and a graduate of Sociology and Social Policy. She previously served as Deputy Editor, News Editor and Assistant News Editor.

Ellen Kenny

Ellen Kenny is the current Deputy Editor of Trinity News and a Senior Sophister student of Politics and Sociology. She previously served as Assistant Editor and Features Editor