SU president Lynn Ruane takes final TCD Seanad seat

Incumbents David Norris and Ivana Bacik were returned to the house, but Sean Barret missed out on a seat


The fifteenth and final count for the TCD Seanad panel has seen Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union president Lynn Ruane take the third and final seat, after incumbents David Norris and Ivana Bacik placed first and second respectively. She was …


Ivana Bacik returned to the Seanad on the thirteenth count

On the first count Bacik took 18% of first preference votes, coming second behind fellow incumbent David Norris


After receiving 4,144  votes on the thirteenth count, senator Ivana Bacik was deemed elected by TCD constituency returning officer provost Patrick Prendergast before 7 pm on Wednesday evening.

She is the second senator to be elected to the chamber on …


VIDEO: Interviews with the 2016 TCD Seanad candidates

We interviewed 14 of the 16 candidates and asked them about topics like fees, abortion, political reform and the environment

Ivana Bacik

Sean Barrett

Sabina Brennan

Tom Clonan

Oisin Coghlan

Maeve Cox

Ed Davitt

Eoin Meehan

Sean Melly

David Norris

Averil Power

William Priestley

Lynn Ruane

Anthony Staines

Ethna Tinney

Interviews conducted by Jules Farrell, Niamh Lynch, Niamh Moriarty, Sarah