Five candidates sanctioned by Electoral Commission

Ents candidate Matt Dundon received a minor strike

Five candidates in the Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) sabbatical officer elections were sanctioned by the Electoral Commission (EC) today.

Ents candidate Matt Dundon received a minor strike. Dundon’s online campaigning will be inactive between 9am and 9pm this Monday, February 19 as a penalty for the strike. Speaking to Trinity News, Dundon said: “The breach was due to DU Comedy making a post about my event on Monday. It was an honest mistake on their part and I think the gig will be successful anyway.”

Meanwhile, four other candidates did not receive a strike but will not be allowed to campaign in the Arts Building or Hamilton between 2pm and 3pm today. Communications and Marketing candidate Cian Rynne, Presidential candidate Sean Ryan, University Times Editor Eleanor O’Mahony, as well as Michael McDermott who is contesting both the Presidential and University Times Editor race, placed posters on an noticeboard, that is not permitted for use by TCDSU, in the Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute (TBSI).

Both Dundon and Ryan have previously been sanctioned by the EC, but had not received any strikes.

Schedule 3 of TCDSU’s Constitution outlines election regulations and dates. Breaches of EC rules usually result in a strike against a candidate, with the candidate removed from the ballot after their third rule break.

Niamh Lynch

Niamh was Editor of the 65th volume of Trinity News. She is a History and Politics graduate.