62 new Scholars announced by Provost

Provost Linda Doyle also announced new Fellows at the annual Trinity Monday ceremony in Front Square

Provost Linda Doyle has named the 62 newly elected Scholars, following January’s Foundation Scholarship, or “Schols”, examinations.

Alongside the newly elected Scholars, Doyle announced the election of 31 new Fellows, seven new Professorial Fellows, and two Honorary Fellows

The number of scholars elected this Trinity Monday sees an increase on last year, when 51 scholars were named. The successful Scholars of this year come from a wide range of disciplines, with highest numbers among law and medicine.

Addressing students and staff in Front Square from the steps of the Public Theatre, Doyle said: “Today, I want to congratulate the students and staff who have been named Scholars and Fellows. It is a fantastic achievement.”

“I would also like to commend all those students who sat the Schols exams this year. We know that a bright future awaits all of you. Go n’éirí an bóthar libh go léir.”

The Foundation Scholarship exams are available for Senior Fresh students to take. The benefits of succeeding in these exams include free accommodation provided for nine months of the year, five years of free fees to the value of the amount paid by Irish and EU students, as well as free meals, known as Commons, provided for the successful candidates.

The staff members elected as Trinity Fellows are Colm John Bergin, Constantine Boussalis, Ciarán Brendan Browne, Igor Candido, Jane Suzanne Carroll, Marcus Collier, Sinéad Corr, Colm Cunningham, Ann Devitt, Eric Downer, Jennifer Edmond, Mark Faulkner, Claire Gillan, Ciarán McGoldrick, Mads Haahr, James Hanrahan, Ranadeva Jayasekera, Paschalis Karageorgis, Vincent P. Kelly, Manuela Kulaxizi, Michelle Leech, Joanne Lysaght, Matthias Möbius, Lorina Naci, Derek Nolan, Niamh O’Boyle, Jennifer O’Meara, Dermot O’Toole, Björn Quiring, Roman Romero-Ortuno, Micha Ruhl, Clemens Ruthner, Alexandros Seretakis, Valerie Smith, Kirk M. Soodhalter, Peter Stone, and Patrick Walsh.

This year’s Professorial Fellows include Gregory O’Hare, Sharyn O’Halloran, Katrin Wendland, Susan Smith, Catherine Welch, Athanasios Mantalaris, and Sonia Bishop.

Photo by Paul Sharp / SharpPix

In addition to the Scholars and Fellows, two Honorary Fellows were announced – poet Paula Meehan, and President of the South East Technological University Veronica Campbell.

Paula Meehan graduated from Trinity with a BA in English, history, and classical civilisation, before studying for an MFA at Eastern Washington University. Having authored nine solo poetry collections, Meehan was named Professor of Poetry in 2013, with her work translated internationally.

Professor Veronica Campbell, former President of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland, holds a degree in Pharmacology from the University of Edinburgh, and a PhD in Neuropharmacology from the University of London. Having held several senior leadership positions in Trinity College Dublin, Campbell currently serves on the Board of the Atlantic Institute, based in Oxford University.

As noted by Senior Lecturer David Shepard, the Foundation Scholarship exams are “the most prestigious undergraduate award in the country”. Though the Scholarship is often heavily criticised, with TCDSU President Gabi Fulham calling it “an archaic and futile institution that serves to entrench classism within Trinity”, the exams draw students every year, eager to receive the benefits awarded to Scholars

The 62 scholars announced today are : Petro Visage, Hugo Fitzmaurice, Peter Gorman, Alannah Hyland, Eoghan Leonard, Conor Burke, Faye Howlin, Aoife Morris, Tara Byrne, Nina Spens, Katie Mohan, Daniel Farushec, Henry Li, Leena Al-Bayati, Yuxuan Chen, Kate Feehily, Daisy Peggy Anne Gambles, Conor Grimes, Maja Grzesiak-Jakimiuk, Rowen Lowson, Lorcan Murphy, Eloise Rodger, Finn Jackson, Finn Doherty, Annie Egan, Nejc Groselj, Ryan Hickey, Isobel Keane, Lawrence Murray, Cormac Ó Fearghail, Emmanuella Oluborode, Brian O’Callaghan, Alexandre Assi, Sin Chai, Emma Finnegan, Tereza Karbanova, Roisin McElligott, Carl Scanlon, Abdulrazak Shakerdi, Katie O’Shea, Caoimhe Colgan, Darren Fitzpatrick, Elena Diez Clarke, Sofia Hu, Fiona Murphy, Jack Cantillon, Aengus Gilligan, Alannah Maxwell, Sylvia Nwokolo, Luke Johnston, Dominik Kuczynski, Anna Brugger, Kate Byrne, Francesco Guaita, Brian Lennon, Ciara Murray, Dearbhla O’Regan, Ailill Park-Sullivan, Joe Prendergast, Lily Price, Ioana Raducu, and Meabh Scahill.