American football gaining ground in Irish universities


  American football is a developing sport across Europe. Maybe it’s the sheer spectacle of the Super Bowl. Or the combination of perfect planning and execution by some of the most physically gifted athletes on the planet. Or, the chance to watch ridiculously muscular superhumans collide at full speed. Whichever it is you fancy, American […]

Wonder boy’s meteoric rise

Niyi Adeolokun 19/8/2014

    One of my all time favourite quotes about the game of rugby came from former sports journalist Alfred E Crawley: “The tactical difference between association football and rugby with all its varieties seems to be that in the former, the ball is the missile, in the latter, men are missiles.” I couldn’t help […]

What weightlifting means to me


The captain of Trinity’s weightlifting club tells us why the sport has changed his outlook on life.

FIFA Ballon d’Or ceremony nothing short of farce


The glitz and glamour associated with the annual Ballon d’Or award shows how out of touch FIFA is with reality.

Shooting for the stars


Alicia Lloyd talks to Stephanie Roche, the first Irish footballer to be nominated for FIFA’s Goal of the Year award.

Balance the key for Tony Smeeth

D7K_6722 (1)

Heading up Trinity Rugby is a delicate balancing act for Tony Smeeth, DUFC’s director of rugby.

Representing college and county

Screen shot 2014-12-12 at 16.15.36

Alicia Lloyd talks to Trinity Ladies Gaelic Football team’s county players.

Death of a sportsman


Alicia Lloyd takes a closer look at the phenomenon of mourning sporting greats, and how the loss of the big hitters can hit us hard.

The (not so) glorious art of diving


The Premier League’s “theatrical” side took centre stage this weekend, but it is what it reveals about the football world’s thinking which is really interesting.

Football Manager: the game that steals lives?

Football Manager

Gavin Cooney interviews Iain Macintosh, co-author of Football Manager stole my life, at the recent Dublin launch of the 2015 game


House 6,
Trinity College,
Dublin 2,

Phone: 01-8962335



Natalie Duda
Naoise Dolan
John Tierney
Sarah Morel
Mubbashir Ali Sultan
Emer Ó Cearbhaill
Maria Kavanagh
Nadia Bertaud
Julia Helmes


Kevin O'Rourke
Vitalia Bikmametova
Huda Awan