First TCDSU Ethnic Minorities committee established

The committee follows the creation of the Ethnic Minority Officer role, which passed in a SU Council in January

The first Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) Ethnic Minorities committee is being established this year, following a mandate from SU Council in January.

Responsibility for the creation of the committee lies with the current Ethnic Minorities Officer Aghogho Atiyota, who will be its chair. The position of Ethnic Minorities Officer was created in January, after it was proposed by the then-TCDSU President Kieran McNulty at an SU Council.

Dipo Adebisi was the first Ethnic Minorities Officer, having been elected immediately following the creation of the position. Adebisi, speaking in favor of the position in January, stated it would encourage more students of different ethnicities to take “a more active role” in college.

Alongside other duties, the part-time officer is mandated to form a sub-committee. Adebisi was assisted by others during his term but an official committee was never established.

Atiyota outlined his plans for the committee to Trinity News. He stated that a major focus for him was to make the committee “as diverse as possible so that we as a committee can represent and identify with most, if not all, ethnic minorities on campus”. He also hopes for “collaboration with different societies” in order to hold large events.

Alongside Atiyota as chair, a vice-chair, communications officer, researcher, and two other members to assist with planning will form the committee. An application form for the committee was posted on the Trinity Freshers Facebook page yesterday evening.

Aisling Grace

Aisling Grace was the Editor-in-Chief of the 66th Volume of Trinity News. She was also formerly Online Editor and Deputy News Editor.