10 TCDSU positions elected uncontested at final union council

The TCDSU part-time officers for 2024/25 were elected this evening, including the new student carers officer.

The part-time officers (PTOs) of Trinity College Dublin Students Union (TCDSU) and other positions for 2024/25 were elected at council this evening.

10 positions out of 17 were elected uncontested.

Other positions elected this evening include chair of council, three faculty convenors and Chair of Trinity Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions Implementation Group (Trinity BDS).

Current LGBTQ Rights Officer Nina Crofts was elected citizenship officer after running unopposed.

Aisling Dillon and Patrick Keegan were elected off-campus officer and international officer, both running unopposed.

An emergency motion to establish a specific student carer officer position was passed without opposition, with Katelyn Mullan Galvin being elected in an uncontested race.

The position was created to allow the union to continue supporting student parents when a student parent is not elected.

Current Citizenship Officer Ella MacLennan was elected housing rights officer, running against Lorenzo Cheasty.

Reuben O’Neill was elected LGBTQ rights officer, defeating Em Davis. O’Neill, the current Junior Common Room (JCR) LGBTQ rights officer, ran on a campaign of “spreading awareness and discussions terminology” on social media.

Current JCR Welfare Officer Emer Munnelly was elected disabilities officer after running against James Murphy. She promised to address the government’s current proposed Green Paper on Disability and “extortionate accommodation costs” on campus for students with disabilities.

Murphy was subsequently elected mature students officer after running uncontested.

Sam Brooks will take over from Nathan Hutchinson as environmental officer. He ran uncontested for the position.

Sole candidate Sarah Selfati Harte was elected access officer, while current Access Officer David Treacy was elected volunteer coordinator after running uncontested for the position.

Amy Kennedy was elected gender equality officer, after running against Aoife Sharkey, Chaya Smyth, and Aashanna Yadav. Kennedy aims to offer a fresh perspective, helping students of all gender identities through empowerment and representation.

Yadav was subsequently elected ethnic minorities officer after running uncontested.

Sean Thim O’Leary was elected union archivist, running unopposed.

Quinn Katz Zogby was chosen as chair of Trinity Boycott, Divestment, and Sanctions (TCD BDS) through a motion, while Elisa Zito was selected as secretary.

Giulia Villa was elected Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (AHSS) Convenor, running against current Deputy AHSS Convenor Sam Brooks.

Ruaidhrí Saulnier was elected Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Convenor after running against current Electoral Commission Chair Conchúr Ó Cathasaigh. This will be Saulnier’s second year in the position.

Ó Cathasaigh was subsequently elected unopposed to serve as Undergraduate Studies Committee Representative.

Incumbent Rarosue Emakpor was re-elected to Health Sciences Convenor in an uncontested race.

Sole candidate Daniel Walsh was elected chair of the EC.

The EC and Oversight Commission failed to fill all positions available.

Additional reporting by Kate Henshaw, David Wolfe, Conor Healy, Emily Sheehan and Kay Williams.

Ellen Kenny

Ellen Kenny is the current Deputy Editor of Trinity News and a Senior Sophister student of Politics and Sociology. She previously served as Assistant Editor and Features Editor

Gabriela Gazaniga

Gabriela Gazaniga is the Deputy Editor of News Analysis and is currently in her Junior Sophister year earning a degree in Law.

Evan Skidmore O’Reilly

Evan Skidmore O’Reilly is News Co-Editor for the 70th volume of Trinity News. He is a former Deputy News Editor, and is a current final year Business and Politics student.