Chris Clifford reelected USI President

Three members of the Coiste Gnó were reelected to their posts, whilst two others will assume new roles within the USI’s executive

Chris Clifford has been elected president of the Union of Students in Ireland (USI) for a second consecutive term.

The results of the election for the members of the USI Coiste Gnó, the executive branch of the union, were announced at USI Comhdháil, which itself was held in the Clayton Hotel in Sligo from March 25 to 28.

In a post on social media following the results, Clifford said he was “delighted” to be reelected president.

“Working with the team this year has been an amazing experience and I am looking forward to continuing this for the next 15 months.”

Clifford won over two other candidates: Dublin City University Students’ Union (DCUSU) VP for Academic Life Eoin Crossen, and Technological University of Dublin Students’ Union (TUDSU) President Brian Jordan.

Bryan O’Mahony was also reelected vice-president (VP) for academic affairs, having stood unopposed.

The race for VP for welfare was won by Niamh Doherty, the current VP for Welfare in Munster Technological University Kerry Students’ Union (MTUKSU).

Nathan Murphy, the incumbent VP for the Dublin region, was elected VP for Campaigns. He succeeds Zaid Al-Barghouthi, who formerly served as Trinity College Dublin Students’ Union (TCDSU) international officer.

Two incumbent officers from DCUSU have been elected to the next Coiste Gnó. The union’s VP for wellbeing Sarah Fitzpatrick was elected VP for postgraduate affairs, whilst VP Emma Monahan has been elected VP for the Dublin region.

VP for the Border, Midlands and Western (BMW) Region Aoife Hynes was elected VP for equality and citizenship vice-presidency.

Technological University of the Shannon Students’ Union (TUSSU) Deputy President for the Midwest Niamh Kennedy was elected VP for the Southern Region, with University of Galway Students’ Union (UGSU) Postgraduate Research Officer Christopher Stewart elected VP for the BMW Region.

Bláithín Nic a t-Sithigh was re-elected to her post as leas uachtarán don Ghaeilge.

No TCDSU members stood as candidates in the elections.

Among the motions passed at Comhdháil included a proposal from the Postgraduate Workers’ Organisation (PWO) mandating the USI to only collaborate with research funding agencies if they pay postgraduate researchers “at a level equal [to], or higher than, the prevailing living wage”, and who provide adequate sick and parental leave where required.

A TCDSU motion defining rent affordability as being up to 30% of a monthly minimum wage was also passed by delegates, as was a separate motion pertaining to electoral reform within the USI, including a commitment to assessing the feasibility of holding direct elections for Coiste Gnó positions.

Evan Skidmore O’Reilly

Evan Skidmore O’Reilly is News Co-Editor for the 70th volume of Trinity News. He is a former Deputy News Editor, and is a current final year Business and Politics student.