Jubilation in Front Square as provost announces 72 new scholars

43 new fellows, three professorial fellows and four honorary fellows were also named at the Trinity Monday ceremony

There were scenes of ecstatic celebration, and others of disappointment, in Front Square this morning as the provost announced the names of 72 new scholars.

Students who had sat January’s scholarship exams shrieked and hugged friends as Provost Linda Doyle read the names of successful candidates from the steps of the Exam Hall.

The number of new scholars is up for the second consecutive year, an increase of 11 from last year, and 22 more than the previous year.

In addition to scholars, Doyle named 43 new fellows from among the university’s academic staff, as well as three professorial fellows and four honorary fellows.

“I warmly congratulate all those who have been elected to Fellowship and Scholarship today,” Doyle said.

“It really is a remarkable academic achievement, and forms part of a long and special tradition at Trinity College Dublin.”

She added: “I also want to congratulate every single person who sat the Schols exams this year. Maith sibh go léir.”

Photo by Jimena Alvarez for Trinity News

Touted as the most prestigious undergraduate award in the country, “schols” comes with a range of benefits: scholars receive free tuition (or a fee reduction equivalent to the rate paid by EU students), free College accommodation, and can dine for free at Commons every weekday.

The staff members elected Fellows are  Joanne Banks, Julie Bates, Gareth Bennett, Caroline Brophy, Andrew Butterfield, Yekaterina Chzhen, Catherine Conlon, Deirdre Mary Connolly, Catherine Darker, Jesse Dillon Savage, Hal Duncan, Peter Dunne, Susan Flynn, John Gallagher, Edurne Garcia Iriarte, Bidisha Ghosh, Neale Gibson, Joseph Augustine Harbison, Meriel Huggard, David Igoe, Alan Irvine, Jo-Hanna Ivers, Iracema Leroi, Kate Maguire, Stephen Maher, Joanna McGouran, Eoin McNamee, Michael Monaghan, Gary Moran, Damian Murchan, Noel Ó Murchadha, Anne O’Connell, Martha O’Hagan Luff, Nicholas Payne, Daniele Pevarello, Maria Porcedda, Maria Jose Santos-Martinez, Matthew Saunders, Fintan Sheerin, Kenneth Silver, Mark Sweetnam, Christofer Jürgen Uhlich and Sven Vanneste.

David Collings, Lindsey Earner-Byrne and Cathal Walsh were elected Professorial Fellows.

Peter Gallagher, Deborah Kelleher, Dermot Kelleher and Elizabeth Oldham were made honorary fellows at the ceremony.

The new scholars announced today are, in alphabetical order of degree programme:

Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Ruairí Goodwin

Dylan Sheehan

Anastazja Kotlewska

Chemical Sciences

Ziga Roblek

Tiago Marques

Children’s and General Nursing

Caitríona O Connell Shelley

Aoife Carr

Classics, Ancient History and Archaeology

Quinn Schein

Clinical Speech and Language Studies 

Aibhe Cronin

Computer Science

Justin Ikechukwu Cunningham

Adam Watters

Dental Science

Shirlynn Lee

Drama and Theatre Studies

Rachel Holmes

Mats Van Sluis

Economic and Social Studies

Piotr Górecki


Oscar Murphy

Niall Maguire

English Studies

Jane Emmins

Eavan O’Keeffe

Zoe Breen

European Studies

Joseph Carmody


Luca Reuland-Donlon

Human Health and Disease

Ava Dinnigan


Nathan Siung

Patrick O’Halloran

Ali McCarthy

Daire Murray

Shannon Watts

Law and French

Katie Wickham


Taiga Shimazu Murray


Cian Morgan

Vishnu Mohan

Ahmed Alshahrabally

Laura Cole

Ruby Kelly

Karlo Vidovic

Aleksandra Majkusiak

Harry Condell

Middle Eastern and European Languages and Cultures

Eve Townsley

Nicholas O’Keeffe


Julianne Prades


Joy Byrne

Nicole Adove

Occupational Therapy

Ella Martin


Abby Courtney

Íde Swanton


Maya Koka

Berenice Guerrero

Aaron Martin

Giorgia Carli

Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology

Shane Burke

Georgina Dowling

Eoin Connolly

Kate Fennell

Lara Smith

Physical Sciences

Erasmo Marcozzi


Erin McIlwaine


Cooney Lochlan

Michael Fanning

Trinity Joint Honours 

Irish and Modern Language Max Ó Donnchú

History and Philosophy Eva Hendley

Classical Civilisation and English Literature Rhys Pearce

Geography and Sociology Phoebe Hill

History and Philosophy Raymond Meyer

History and History of Art and Architecture Nora Mulvehill

English Literature and History Michelle Schmidt

Economics and Philosophy Nina Stremersch

Law and History Alannah Ryan

Linguistics and Philosophy Giulia Villa

English Literature and History Liam Kelly

Film Studies and English Literature Isabella Hogg

Law and Business Liam O’Flanagan

Law and Political Science Conor Healy

David Wolfe

David Wolfe is a Junior Sophister student of History and Political Science. He is the current Social Media and Managing Editor of Trinity News, having previously served as News Editor, Assistant News Editor and copyeditor.